Contact Us

Use the form on the right to contact us.

You can edit the text in this area, and change where the contact form on the right submits to, by entering edit mode using the modes on the bottom right. 

8 Exhibition Link
Wynyard, TAS, 7325
Australia

The Wonders of Wynyard is home to the world-class Ransley Veteran Car Collection with over 14 vehicles including the equal oldest Ford in the world – the 1903 Model A. The collection has been lovingly restored and is an outstanding showcase of Australian motoring history.

Screen Shot 2015-09-28 at 5.09.14 pm.png

Art Gallery and Local History

The Wonders of Wynyard hosts a feature exhibition each month showcasing the work of predominantly local artists and community groups including paintings, sculptures, photographs, textiles and much more. There are also permanent displays of locally significant collections, and local historical interpretation displays. Entry to the Gallery space is free! 

This month's feature exhibition

The Beautiful Changes - by mary Lewis

Glass bead artistry

Mary Lewis Designs

Mary has been a creator of glass beads since late 1970, she also participates in the Tasmanian Craft Fair and exhibits in numerous local galleries.

Her inspiration message for this exhibition is that beauty is not a static thing. Rather it is transformed and reborn time and time again as in a “second finding” in Richard Wilbur’s poem The Beautiful Changes. We, as the observers of beauty, are also changed and renewed in our sense of wonder in the presence of beautiful things.

 

 

Permanent displays

Displays permanently held at the Wonders of Wynyard include a Japanese Doll Collection, a life-sized paper sculpture of  F. M. Alexander – founder of the Alexander Technique - and a detailed history of the Tommeginer people. All of these displays have local historical significance.

 

 

Local history

Along with our unique historical motoring display, our maritime history is also featured at the Wonders of Wynyard. Historical data records the naming of Table Cape by explorers Bass and Flinders in 1798. The Table Cape Lighthouse was built in 1888 and is the only operating Lighthouse open for tours on mainland Tasmania. 

The unique geology of the area, including Table Cape - the remains of a 12 million year old volcano - the fossil rich sandstone cliffs of Fossil Bluff and the Basalt headlands called Doctors Rocks can also be discovered at the Wonders of Wynyard.

And just 50 minutes from Wynyard at the gateway to the Tarkine Wilderness, the township of Waratah has a staggering history of riches and pioneering spirit that can be explored at the Tarkine Interpretation Centre and Courthouse Museum.

Anasazi Pic.jpg
 
Wynyardia bassinia.jpg